Antsle Forum

Welcome to our Antsle community! This forum is to connect all Antsle users to post experiences, make user-generated content available for the entire community and more. 

Please note: This forum is about discussing one specific issue at a time. No generalizations. No judgments. Please check the Forum Rules before posting. If you have specific questions about your Antsle and expect a response from our team directly, please continue to use the appropriate channels (email: [email protected]) so every inquiry is tracked. 

Please or Register to create posts and topics.

Pre-purchase questions - restore to antlets?

I've been a software developer for more than 25 years, and one problem I have is maintaining legacy applications.  I literally have a few old computers laying around that I sometimes have to fire up to get access to an old application.  I have a Windows XP box, Windows 7, Windows 10, Ubuntu 14.04, etc.

I also have a couple Digital Ocean droplets with web applications that I maintain.

My goal is to move this all to antlets.  How difficult is it to backup these various systems and restore them to antlets?  Seriously, my life would be perfect if I could just log into antMan, click "Start" on my XP instance, RDP into it, do what I need to do, and stop the instance.

Any personal experience with restoring existing OSes to antlets?

I have done this multiple times:

A Windows 7 desktop

A Windows Vista laptop

A Windows 10 Pro laptop

Two Windows 10 Pro desktops [these are "fail-over" computers I periodically restore from the physical computers in case the physical dies]

The computers that didn't have UEFI and were very easy.  The UEFI computer needed a tweak to the antlet configuration (directly editing the XML definition) to enable UEFI.

For the non-UEFIs:

I create a blank KVM antlet (this is just a blank empty vm -- the Antsle comes with other "pre-defined" template like Ubuntu and Windows server etc).